Home (R1)About IARUCommittees and Working Groups

Committees and Working Groups

IARU Region 1 relies heavily on a core group of unpaid volunteers to take part in its committee and working group activities. There are five Permanent Committees, which act in an advisory capacity with the aim of considering policies and coordinating activities in the relevant parts of the radio frequency spectrum or Regional activity. 

They are (with the name of Chair): 

  • Spectrum and Regulatory Liaison Committee — Barry Lewis, G4SJH
  • HF Committee — Tom Kamp, DF5JL
  • VHF/UHF/Microwave Committee — Dick Harms, PA2DW
  • EMC Committee — Wolfgang Mahr, OE1MHZ
  • Political Relations Committee — Séamus McCague, EI8BP

In addition there are four Working Groups covering specific activities within amateur radio:

  • ARDF — Direction Finding — Working Group — Jiří Mareček, OK2BWN 
  • HST — High Speed Telegraphy — Working Group ‑Oliver Tabakovski, Z32TO
  • STARS (Support for the Amateur Radio Service) Working Group — Hans Welens, ON6WQ
  • Youth Working Group — Philipp Springer, DK6SP

There are also Coordinators covering other areas of activity which do not warrant a full Working Group being established. They cover the following areas:

  • ARSPEX (Amateur Radio Space Exploration) — Stefan Dombrowski, ON6TI
  • Emergency Communications — Greg Mossop, G0DUB 
  • HF beacons — Dennis Green, ZS4BS
  • IARUMS — IARU monitoring system — Gaspar Miró EA6AMM
  • International Programme for Disabled Amateurs (IPDA) — Thomas Huber, HB9FXU 
  • Regulatory Affairs — Peter Frey, HB9MQM 
  • Satellites — Graham Shirville, G3VZV
  • VHF/UHF/Microwave beacons — Mathias Klug, DH4FAJ
  • VHF/UHF/Microwave contests — Alessandro Carletti, IV3KKW

Details of all these groups and their work can be found by clicking the links above. The Terms of Reference for all committees and working groups can be found here

All Committees and Working Groups are subject to general requirements as follows:

  • They act under the provisions of the IARU Region 1 Constitution and Bylaws
  • All Chairmen and Coordinators are appointed at each triennial General Conference
  • All Chairmen and Coordinators provide annual reports to the EC and to the General Conference
  • All Chairmen and Coordinators shall attend Region 1 General Conference
  • All IARU Region 1 Member Societies are entitled to participate in the work of the permanent committees. The permanent working groups consist of persons appointed by the Member Societies interested in the relevant activity 

During the three-yearly General Conference of Region 1, a number of Committees handle the work of the Conference:

  • C 1: Steering Committee
  • C 2: Credentials and Finance Committee
  • C 3: General Administrative and Organisational Committee 
  • C 4: Permanent HF Committee 
  • C 5: Permanent VHF/UHF and Microwaves Committee
  • C 6: Election and Ballot Committee
  • C 7: Permanent EMC Committee

Print This Page Updated on June 4, 2021

Materials on this website may be subject to copyright.