The International Amateur Radio Union (IARU) is a federation of national associations of certified radio amateurs, representing over 150 countries and separate territories around the world.

The three IARU Regions are organised to broadly mirror the structure of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) and its related regional telecommunications organisations. The Regions comprise:
- IARU Region 1: Europe, Africa, the Middle East and Northern Asia
- IARU Region 2: The Americas
- IARU Region 3: Asia-Pacific

The IARU represents the interests of the Amateur Radio Service worldwide to relevant international organisations, promoting the interests of amateur radio and seeking to protect and enhance its spectrum privileges.

Handover Executive Committee

The outgoing IARU Region 1 Executive Committee thanks the IARU Region 1 Member Societies for their trust in the past three years. My personal thanks go to my retiring Committee Members for their dedication and hard work done in the interest of amateur radio. We wish the new Executive Committee, taking over on 31 October 2014, all the best for the years ahead.