The International Amateur Radio Union (IARU) is a federation of national associations of certified radio amateurs, representing over 150 countries and separate territories around the world.

The three IARU Regions are organised to broadly mirror the structure of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) and its related regional telecommunications organisations. The Regions comprise:
- IARU Region 1: Europe, Africa, the Middle East and Northern Asia
- IARU Region 2: The Americas
- IARU Region 3: Asia-Pacific

The IARU represents the interests of the Amateur Radio Service worldwide to relevant international organisations, promoting the interests of amateur radio and seeking to protect and enhance its spectrum privileges.

Germany: Immediate access to 5 MHz band

The German administration for the amateur service (BNetzA) published an official note allowing German radio amateurs the use of the band 5351.5 kHz – 5366.5 kHz with 15 W (e.i.r.p).

All modes may be used; the bandwidth is limited to 2.7 kHz