The International Amateur Radio Union (IARU) is a federation of national associations of certified radio amateurs, representing over 150 countries and separate territories around the world.

The three IARU Regions are organised to broadly mirror the structure of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) and its related regional telecommunications organisations. The Regions comprise:
- IARU Region 1: Europe, Africa, the Middle East and Northern Asia
- IARU Region 2: The Americas
- IARU Region 3: Asia-Pacific

The IARU represents the interests of the Amateur Radio Service worldwide to relevant international organisations, promoting the interests of amateur radio and seeking to protect and enhance its spectrum privileges.

Amateur Radio Representation in ITU

The following statement has been released by IARU globally:

IARU has participated in ITU conferences since 1927 and has been a sector member of ITU since 1932, playing an active role in the work of the ITU radiocommunication and development sectors. It can claim a number of achievements, including the introduction of the 10, 18, 21 and 24 MHz bands, the creation of the amateur satellite service and introduction of a number of new bands from LF to the millimetre waves along with the restoration of 7100-7200 kHz in Regions 1 and 3.

IARU is now pleased to record that another organisation will be joining the voice for amateur radio in ITU. EURAO has been accepted as a sector member of ITU at the recent meeting of the ITU Council.

IARU welcomes EURAO to ITU membership and hopes to work closely with its representatives in ITU Study Groups and Working Parties to present the arguments for amateur and amateur-satellite service spectrum. IARU believes that a strong degree of co-operation between our two organisations into the future will be in the best interests of the amateur service and is committed to working to make that happen.

Tim Ellam, President