The International Amateur Radio Union (IARU) is a federation of national associations of certified radio amateurs, representing over 150 countries and separate territories around the world.

The three IARU Regions are organised to broadly mirror the structure of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) and its related regional telecommunications organisations. The Regions comprise:
- IARU Region 1: Europe, Africa, the Middle East and Northern Asia
- IARU Region 2: The Americas
- IARU Region 3: Asia-Pacific

The IARU represents the interests of the Amateur Radio Service worldwide to relevant international organisations, promoting the interests of amateur radio and seeking to protect and enhance its spectrum privileges.


Date for Global Simulated Emergency Test has changed

The date for this event, sponsored by IARU Region 1, has been altered to coincide with World Amateur Radio Day on Saturday, April 18th. The theme for the day of "Amateur Radio: Your Resource in Disaster and Emergency Communication" is an ideal opportunity to showcase the work of emergency communications groups around the world.

The timing of the event remains at 1100-1500 UTC but in a change for this and future events, the focus will be on generating and relaying messages in a common format across country borders rather than the information gathering about capabilities which has taken place in the past.

Cavtat Conference a Success



The IARU Region 1 Conference at Cavtat, Croatia, has ended. A total of 52 societies were represented, with over 100 conference papers being considered in the four day event. IARU member society of Croatia, made outstanding arrangements for the conference, which was enjoyed by over 100 delegates.

HST "Cup of Nations"

Belarus will hold the 6th International Tournament in HST 'Cup of Nations' from July 4-8th 2008. Whilst not an IARU event, we are providing information here as IARU is deeply involved in promoting HST

Details are available here in a zipped file.

New Prefix for Bosnia-Herzegovina Officially Announced

In August, in response to a request from the Ministry of Communications and Transport of Bosnia and Herzegovina, the International Telecommunication Union withdrew the call sign prefix allocation T9A-T9Z for Bosnia and Herzegovina and made a new allocation, E7A-E7Z. The change was made initially on a provisional basis under authority of the ITU Secretary-General and was confirmed by the 2007 World Radiocommunication Conference to be effective November 17, 2007.

On December 18 the Ministry of Communications and Transport held a press conference in Sarajevo to formally announce the change.

WRC Final Report

Read the final report from IARU about the outcome of WRC07 as far as the Amateur Services are concerned

WRC07 update

WRC-07 Week 3: HF Broadcasting Empty-Handed, No 5-MHz Amateur Allocation

As the International Telecommunication Union’s 2007 World Radiocommunication Conference (WRC-07) in Geneva headed toward its fourth and final week, the proponents of additional allocations to HF Broadcasting conceded defeat and accepted that there will be no additional allocations made to HFBC at this conference. The slim possibility of a 5-MHz allocation to the amateur service also evaporated late Friday evening.

IARU Region 1 Medal awarded to Rudolf Rieder

Presentation of the IARU Region 1 Medal to Rudolf Rieder

The photographs below were taken at a dinner held in Geneva during WRC07, to celebrate the presentation of the IARU Region 1 Medal to Rudolf Rieder.

Rudolf has recently retired from his role with the Swiss regulator, BAKOM, (Federal Office of Communications) where he was Sektionschef Funkkonzessionen.