The International Amateur Radio Union (IARU) is a federation of national associations of certified radio amateurs, representing over 150 countries and separate territories around the world.

The three IARU Regions are organised to broadly mirror the structure of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) and its related regional telecommunications organisations. The Regions comprise:
- IARU Region 1: Europe, Africa, the Middle East and Northern Asia
- IARU Region 2: The Americas
- IARU Region 3: Asia-Pacific

The IARU represents the interests of the Amateur Radio Service worldwide to relevant international organisations, promoting the interests of amateur radio and seeking to protect and enhance its spectrum privileges.


First ARISS Contact with HAMTV

A world first! Thursday 11 February 2016, at 18:11 UTC, an educational ARISS radio contact took place at the Royal Masonic School for Girls, Rickmansworth, United Kingdom. The school contact was operated by Tim Peake, KG5BVI in the frame of the Principia mission. Read more here

WRC-15 IARU Team

IARU Team inside CICGThe WRC-15 IARU Team

With WRC-15 entering the 4th and final week the opportunity was taken to get most of the group together for a photograph.  

Taken inside the main CICG meeting room -

Sitting from left to right is Bryan Rawlings VE3QN (Canada), IARU Region 3 Secretary Ken Yamamoto JA1CJP (JARL), Hans Blondeel Timmerman PB2T (Netherlands), Colin Thomas G3PSM (UK).

Standing from left to right is IARU Vice-President Ole Garpestad LA2RR (Norway), IARU Region 2 President Reinaldo Leandro YV5AM, Ulrich Muller DK4VW (DARC), ARRL Chief Technology Officer Brennan Price N4QX (USA) and IARU Region 3 Director Don Wallace ZL2TLL (New Zealand).

Not pictured was Flavio Archangelo PY2ZX (Brazil) who worked tirelessly with the CITEL group and Dale Hughes VK1DSH (Australia) the sub-working group Chairman who successfully steered the 5 MHz agenda item through to a successful conclusion, IARU President Tim Ellam VE6SH and IARU Region 1 Vice-President Faisal Alajmi 9K2RR (Kuwait/ASMG) .

Photo courtesy of LA2RR

Krzysztof Słomczyński SP5HS - Silent Key

On 1st August 2016, Krzysztof Słomczyński SP5HS passed away at the age of 81. He was one of the most merited radio amateurs in Poland. The late Krzysztof was one of the reactivators of the Polish Amateur Radio Union (PZK) over the period 1956-57. He was a member of the Headquarters of the PZK, and He was involved in publishing of the “Polish Radio Amateur” (“Krótkofalowiec Polski”) magazine. He was awarded the Honorary Decoration of the PZK with the 007 number. He was one of five persons who established the SP DX Club in 1959. For more click here

Novi Sad, Serbia 2020


The 2020 IARU Region 1 General Conference – Novi Sad, Serbia 10-16 October 2020



The Announcement



The Conference Papers




Conference Website



After the Conference





Interim meeting


 HF Committee C4


Release Date

 C4 papers Interim Meeting Vienna 2016  April 2016
 Minutes Committee C4 Interim Meeting 2016  May 2016
 C4 papers Interim Meeting Vienna 2013  April 2013
 Minutes Committee C4 Interim Meeting 2013  May 2013
 C4 papers Interim Meeting 2010  February 2010
 Minutes Committee C4 Vienna 2010  March 2010
 C4 papers Interim Meeting Vienna 2007  February 2007
 Minutes Committee C4 Interim Meeting 2007  February 2007



Coming soon...

VHF/UHF/SHF Committee C5


Release Date

Minutes Committee C5 Interim Meeting 2016  May 2016
C4 papers Interim Meeting Vienna 2016  April 2016


The Region 1 Medal

1984: UA3AF

1987: René A. Vanmuysen, ON4VY, Jacob Maarten den Herder, F6FYI, Stein Barlaug, LA4ND, H. Walcott Benjamin, EL2BA, Jean Wolff, LX1JW, F6DBG

1989: Walter Empsten, ON4ZN

1992: Paul Rinaldo, W4RI

1993: Henryk Cichon, SP9ZD

1995: Mirko Mandrino, YT7MM, Driss Bendani, 7X4MD, Kjell W. Strom, SM6CPI, Jurgen Rottger, DJ3KR, Ahmed Suwaidan Al-Balushi, A41FK, W0LCD, DB6NT

1999: Krzysztof Slomczynski, SP5HS, Peter Martinez, G3PLX, Matjaz Vidmar, S53MV, A Tobbe Klaasse Bos, PA3ADR, Rossella Strom Spadini, I1RYS

2002: Ron Roden, G4GKO, R .J “Tim” Hughes, G3GVV, John Bazley, G3HCT, Gaston Bertels, ON4WF,

2004: Jan Verduijn, PA1JV (Dutch Administration)

2005: Arie Dogterom, PA0EZ; Abdi Razak Alshawarzi, A41JT

2007:  Rudolf Rieder (Swiss administration)

2008: Max Raicha, 5Z4MR; Hans Ehlers, DF5UG

2009: Fernando Fernández Martín, EA8AK

2011: Ulrich Bihlmayer, DJ9KR

2014: Hans Blondeel Timmerman, PB2T; Hani Raad, OD5TE; Panayot Danev, LZ1US; Nikola Percin, 9A5W; Andreas Thiemann, HB9JOE; Michael Kastelic, OE1MCU; Martin Harrison, G3USF

2016: Christian Verholt, OZ8CY, Wolfgang Hadel, DK2OM

2017: Ulrich Mueller, DK4VW; Lisa Leenders, PA2LS; Graham Shirville, G3VZV; Greg Mossop, G0DUB; Dennis Green, ZS4BS

Region 1 Awards

The Roy Stevens, G2BVN, Memorial Award

The Region 1 Operating Award

The Region 1 Medal and Certificate

The IARU Region 1 Operating Award

The IARU Region 1 Operating Award

This award, available in three classes, may be claimed by any licensed radio amateur eligible under the General Rules who can produce evidence of having contacted amateur radio stations in the required number of countries whose national societies are members of the Region 1 of the International Amateur Radio Union (IARU).

The three classes are for contacts as follows:

Class 1 All member countries on the current list

Class 2 60 member countries

Class 3 40 member countries


Members of IARU Region 1 are: (Total 97)

Albania (AARA), Algeria (ARA), Andorra (URA), Armenia (FRRA), Austria (OEVSV), Bahrain (ARAB), Belarus (BFRR), Belgium (UBA), Bosnia & Herzegovina (ARABIH), Botswana (BARS), Bulgaria (BFRA), Burkina Faso (ARBF), Burundi (ABART), Cameroon (ARTJ), Congo (URAC), Croatia (HRS), Cyprus inc UK Sov Bases (CARS), Czech Republic (CRC), Democratic Republic of Congo (ARAC), Denmark (EDR), Djibouti (ARAD), Egypt (EARA), Estonia (EARU), Ethiopia (EARS), Faeroe Islands (FRA), Finland (SRAL), France inc. TK (REF), Gabon (AGRA), Gambia (RSTG), Georgia (NARG), Germany (DARC), Ghana (GARS), Gibraltar (GARS), Greece (RAAG), Hungary (MRASZ), Iceland (IRA), Iraq (IARS), Ireland (IRTS), Israel (IARC), Italy (ARI), Ivory Coast (ARAI), Jordan (RJARS), Kazakstan (KFRR), Kenya (ARSK), Kosovo (SHRAK) Kuwait (KARS), Latvia (LRAL), Lebanon (RAL), Lesotho (LARS), Liberia (LRAA), Liechtenstein (AFVL), Lithuania (LRMD), Luxembourg (RL), Mali (CRAM), Malta (MARL), Mauritius (MARS), Moldova (ARDM), Monaco (ARM), Mongolia (MRSF), Montenegro (MARP), Morocco (ARRAM), Mozambique (LREM), Namibia (NARL), Netherlands (VERON), Nigeria (NARS), Norway (NRRL), North Macedonia (RSM),Oman (ROARS), Poland (PZK), Portugal incl. CU and CT3 (REP), Qatar (QARS), Republic of Guinee (ARGUI), Romania (FRR), Russian Federation (SRR), San Marino (ARRSM), Senegal (ARAS), Serbia (SRS), Sierra Leone (SLARS), Slovakia (SARA), Slovenia (ZRS), South Africa (SARL), Spain (URE), Swaziland (RSS), Sweden (SSA), Switzerland (USKA), Syria (SSTARS), Tadjikstan (ex UJ) (TARL), Tanzania (TARC), Tunisia (CAST), Turkey (TRAC), Turkmenistan (ex UH) (LRT), Uganda (UARS), Ukraine (UARL), United Arab Emirates (EARS), UK (G GD GI GJ GM GU GW ) (RSGB), Zambia (RSZ), Zimbabwe (ZARS)

A special version of this award is available, in the same 3 classes, for confirmed contacts on the 28 MHz band since 1 July 1983.

Submit a list of countries in Prefix Order, Call, and all QSO details Band Mode etc. A special application form is available by email or S.A.S.E. from the RSGB Awards Manager

Please note a certified list signed by the applicant and his National Society Awards Manager confirming QSL cards are held must be submitted for all Class-1 applications. For Class –2 and Class-3 Awards GCR rules apply. General Certification by two other radio amateurs or local club officials stating the QSL’s have been examined is satisfactory proof. Please note “e-QSL’s” are not acceptable as proof of a QSO. Cost of this Award is US$6, 6-Euro, or £3 UKP.