The International Amateur Radio Union (IARU) is a federation of national associations of certified radio amateurs, representing over 150 countries and separate territories around the world.

The three IARU Regions are organised to broadly mirror the structure of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) and its related regional telecommunications organisations. The Regions comprise:
- IARU Region 1: Europe, Africa, the Middle East and Northern Asia
- IARU Region 2: The Americas
- IARU Region 3: Asia-Pacific

The IARU represents the interests of the Amateur Radio Service worldwide to relevant international organisations, promoting the interests of amateur radio and seeking to protect and enhance its spectrum privileges.

Russian Federation to join T/R 61-01

CEPTAt a recent meeting the Russian State Commission for Radio Frequencies decided that the Russian Federation will join CEPT Recommendation T/R 61-01 (CEPT Radio Amateur License) and ECC/REC/(05)06 (CEPT Novice). The commission plans to advise CEPT Working Group RA accordingly in the near future. WGRA meetings are scheduled for May and September 2011.

IARU Region 1 considers this a major step forward to achieve worldwide radio amateur roaming.