The International Amateur Radio Union (IARU) is a federation of national associations of certified radio amateurs, representing over 150 countries and separate territories around the world.

The three IARU Regions are organised to broadly mirror the structure of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) and its related regional telecommunications organisations. The Regions comprise:
- IARU Region 1: Europe, Africa, the Middle East and Northern Asia
- IARU Region 2: The Americas
- IARU Region 3: Asia-Pacific

The IARU represents the interests of the Amateur Radio Service worldwide to relevant international organisations, promoting the interests of amateur radio and seeking to protect and enhance its spectrum privileges.

500 kHz and 70 MHz in the Netherlands

Starting 1 January 2012 Dutch full license amateurs are allowed to operate on 500 kHz and 70 MHz. The new secondary allocations include the bands 501-505 kHz with a maximum power of 100 Watts in modes A1A, F1A, G1A and J2A and 70.0-70.5 MHz with a maximum power of 50 Watts in all modes.