The International Amateur Radio Union (IARU) is a federation of national associations of certified radio amateurs, representing over 150 countries and separate territories around the world.

The three IARU Regions are organised to broadly mirror the structure of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) and its related regional telecommunications organisations. The Regions comprise:
- IARU Region 1: Europe, Africa, the Middle East and Northern Asia
- IARU Region 2: The Americas
- IARU Region 3: Asia-Pacific

The IARU represents the interests of the Amateur Radio Service worldwide to relevant international organisations, promoting the interests of amateur radio and seeking to protect and enhance its spectrum privileges.


In February 2017, IARU Region 1 proposed that EURAO and IARU should meet to have an exchange of views about each organistion's priorities for Amateur Radio and also internal decision making processes. This against a background of needing to present a single message to regulators on amateur radio matters.

After a brief discussion at the Friedrichahafen Ham Radio event, EURAO has now agreed to meet, and the meeting is scheduled for December 2017. IARU Region 1 looks forward to a constructive discussion.