The International Amateur Radio Union (IARU) is a federation of national associations of certified radio amateurs, representing over 150 countries and separate territories around the world.

The three IARU Regions are organised to broadly mirror the structure of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) and its related regional telecommunications organisations. The Regions comprise:
- IARU Region 1: Europe, Africa, the Middle East and Northern Asia
- IARU Region 2: The Americas
- IARU Region 3: Asia-Pacific

The IARU represents the interests of the Amateur Radio Service worldwide to relevant international organisations, promoting the interests of amateur radio and seeking to protect and enhance its spectrum privileges.

Joint statement on meeting IARU and EURAO

Joint statement following a meeting between IARU and EURAO to discuss areas of common interest

EuraoA meeting was held on 2nd December between the President of IARU Region 1 and the President of EURAO. Also present were the Chair of IARU Region 1’s Spectrum and Regulatory Liaison Committee and the Secretary-General of EURAO.

The meeting was held against a background of both IARU Region 1 and EURAO having LoUs with CEPT, enabling participation in the work of CEPT.  

The meeting was held to explore areas of common interest, recognising in particular the desire of CEPT for representative organisations to present a common amateur radio service position.

IARU Region 1 and EURAO exchanged views on their priorities for the Amateur Radio service after which a more detailed discussion took place on the ways in which they might cooperate in the interest of the future of amateur radio.

Both organisations accepted that they had shared objectives, identified some specific areas for interworking and will continue a constructive dialogue into the future.

D F Beattie, G3BJ                                                       Petrica Stolnicu, YO9RIJ
President IARU Region 1                                            President, EURAO

Dave Court, EI3IO                                                       Joan-Carles Samaranch, EA3CIW
Chair IARU Region 1 Spectrum and                           Secretary-General, EURAO
Regulatory Liaison Committee