IARU Region 1 22nd General Conference News Release

The 22nd General Conference of International Amateur Radio Union (IARU) Region 1 was opened in the presence of dignitaries and Member Societies delegates on Saturday 13 August 2011. Mr Hans Blondeel Timmerman, PB2T, IARU Region 1 President started the opening Plenary by welcoming Mr Brahima Sanou, Director of the ITU Telecommunication Development Bureau, Mr Soumaila Adoulkarim, Secretary General of the African Telecommunications Union (ATU), Mr Mohamadou Arabani Saibou, Director General, ESMT - Ecole Supérieure Multinationale des Télécommunications (Senegal), the representatives of IARU, IARU Region 2 and Region 3, IARU Region 1 member societies' delegates, observers and partners.

For the first time in the history of IARU Region 1, the General Conference is taking place on the African Continent in Sun City, South Africa.

Region 1 President, Hans, PB2T, called for a moment of silence in memory of those great radio amateurs who are no longer with us,  specifically mentioned were former IARU Region 1 Treasurer Axel Tigersted, OH5NW, NRRL President Thormod Boe, LA7OF, and DARC DX and Contest Manager Dr Lothar Wilke, DL3TD.

Mr Soumaila Adoulkarim, Mr Mohamadou Saibou and the President of the Interna-tional Amateur Radio Union Mr Tim St John Ellam, VE6SH, also delivered short ad-dresses before Mr Brahima Sanou, Director of the ITU Telecommunication Devel-opment Bureau officially opened the 22nd General Conference of IARU Region 1.

One hundred and three delegates and fifty-four member societies of Region 1 were represented at the General Conference.

Throughout the conference, various meetings took place and recommendations were put forward by the relevant committees: Committee C2 (Credentials and Finance), Committee C3 (Administration and Organisational), Committee C4 (HF) and Committee C5 (VHF/UHF and Microwave). The outcome of the various sessions resulted in seventy-eight recommendations passed by the Conference at the Final Plenary on Wednesday 17 August 2011.Focussed Workshops were held covering WRC-12, STARS and Youth in Amateur Radio. A Youth section has been added to the Region 1 web site.

A new Executive Committee was elected at the Conference to serve for the next three years, with their term of office starting 30 September 2011. Elected members are:

President:  Hans Blondeel Timmerman, PB2T
Vice President: Hani Raad, OD5TE
Secretary: Dennis Green, ZS4BS
Treasurer: Andreas Thiemann, HB9JOE
Members: Thilo Kootz, DL9KCE, Colin Thomas, G3PSM, Nikola Percin, 9A5W, An-ders Larsson, SM6CNN, and Panayot Danev, LZ1US.

Three bids to host the 23rd General Conference of IARU Region 1 in 2014 were presented by Soyuz Radiolyubitelei Rossii (SRR), Russia, the Bulgarian Federation of Radio Amateurs (BFRA) and a combined bid from the Vereniging Voor Experimenteel Radio Onderzoek In Nederland (VERON), the Netherlands and the Koninklijke Unie Van De Belgische Zendamateurs (UBA), Belgium.The 23rd General Conference of IARU Region 1 will be hosted by the Bulgarian Federation of Radio Amateurs (BFRA), in Varna on the Black Sea in September 2014.

Conference photographs are available in the Photo Gallery