Home (R1)On the AirRegion 1 Awards

Region 1 Awards

The IARU Region 1 Operating Award 

This award, available in three classes, may be claimed by any licensed radio amateur eligible under the General Rules who can produce evidence of having contacted amateur radio stations in the required number of countries whose national societies are members of the Region 1 of the International Amateur Radio Union (IARU).

The three classes are for contacts as follows:

  • Class 1 — All member countries on the current list
  • Class 2 — 60 member countries
  • Class 3 — 40 member countries

Members of IARU Region 1 are: (Total 101)

Albania (AARA), Algeria (ARA), Andorra (URA), Armenia (FRRA), Austria (OEVSV), Azerbaijan (FRS), Bahrain (BARS), Belarus (BFRR), Belgium (UBA), Bosnia & Herzegovina (ARABIH), Botswana (BARS), Bulgaria (BFRA), Burkina Faso (ARBF), Burundi (ABART), Cameroon (ARTJ), Congo (URAC), Croatia (HRS), Cyprus inc UK Sov Bases (CARS), Czech Republic (CRC), Democratic Republic of Congo (ARAC), Denmark (EDR), Djibouti (ARAD), Egypt (EARA), Estonia (EARU), Eswatini (RSE), Ethiopia (EARS), Faeroe Islands (FRA), Finland (SRAL), France inc. TK (REF), Gabon (AGRA), Gambia (RSTG), Georgia (NARG), Germany (DARC), Ghana (GARS), Gibraltar (GARS), Greece (RAAG), Hungary (MRASZ), Iceland (IRA), Iraq (IARS), Ireland (IRTS), Israel (IARC), Italy (ARI), Ivory Coast (ARAI), Jordan (RJARS), Kazakstan (KFRR), Kenya (ARSK), Kosovo (SHRAK) Kuwait (KARS), Kyrgyzstan (ARUKR), Latvia (LRAL), Lebanon (RAL), Lesotho (LARS), Liberia (LRAA), Liechtenstein (AFVL), Lithuania (LRMD), Luxembourg (RL), Mali (CRAM), Malta (MARL), Mauritius (MARS), Moldova (ARDM), Monaco (ARM), Mongolia (MRSF), Montenegro (MARP), Morocco (ARRAM), Mozambique (LREM), Namibia (NARL), Netherlands (VERON), Nigeria (NARS), Norway (NRRL), North Macedonia (RSM), Oman (ROARS), Poland (PZK), Portugal incl. CU and CT3 (REP), Qatar (QARS), Republic of Guinee (ARGUI), Romania (FRR), Russian Federation (SRR), Rwanda (RARU), San Marino (ARRSM), Saudi Arabia (SARS), Senegal (ARAS), Serbia (SRS), Seychelles (SARA), Sierra Leone (SLARS), Slovakia (SARA), Slovenia (ZRS), South Africa (SARL), Spain (URE), Sweden (SSA), Switzerland (USKA), Syria (SSTARS), Tadjikstan (ex UJ) (TARL), Tanzania (TARC), Tunisia (CAST), Turkey (TRAC), Turkmenistan (ex UH) (LRT), Uganda (UARS), Ukraine (UARL), United Arab Emirates (EARS), UK (G GD GI GJ GM GU GW ) (RSGB), Zambia (RSZ), Zimbabwe (ZARS)

A special version of this award is available, in the same 3 classes, for confirmed contacts on the 28 MHz band since 1 July 1983.

Submit a list of countries in Prefix Order, Call, and all QSO details Band Mode etc. A special application form is available by email or S.A.S.E. from the RSGB Awards Manager

Please note a certified list signed by the applicant and his National Society Awards Manager confirming QSL cards are held must be submitted for all Class‑1 applications. For Class –2 and Class‑3 Awards GCR rules apply. General Certification by two other radio amateurs or local club officials stating the QSL’s have been examined is satisfactory proof. Please note “e‑QSL’s” are not acceptable as proof of a QSO. Cost of this Award is GBP 4 for electronic (pdf), GBP 5 for paper copy, or GBP 7 for both electronic and paper.

Print This Page Updated on May 29, 2021

Materials on this website may be subject to copyright.